CPE 400/600 Computer Communication Networks

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

UNR, fall 2012

Course Information - Description - Objective - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus Organization - Grading - ABET Criteria - Schedule - Announcements

Course Information

Class hours Monday & Wednesday, 11:00am - 12:15pm, OSN 203 Computer Networking: A Top-Down Approach Featuring the Internet
Instructor Dr. Mehmet Gunes
E-mail mgunes (at) cse (dot) unr (dot) edu
Phone (775) 784 - 4313
Web page http://www.cse.unr.edu/~mgunes
Office SEM 238 (Scrugham Engineering-Mines)
Office hours Monday & Wednesday 2:30 - 4:00 pm or by appointment

Catalog Description

ISO model, protocol layers, circuit/packet switching, sockets, reliable transport, congestion control, routing, addressing, switching, multiple access, error correction, coding, and digital modulation

Objective

This course is an introductory course on computer networks. Using the Internet as a vehicle, this course introduces the underlying concepts and principles of modern computer networks with emphasis on protocols, architectures, and implementation issues. The main goal of this course is to understand layering in computer networks, understand different protocol stacks (OSI and TCP/IP), understand functions and protocols within a layer, understand how layers fit together and finally understand how the Internet works.

Prerequisites


Textbooks

Required Recommended

Syllabus (Tentative)

This is a tentative list of topics, subject to modification and reorganization.
  1. Introduction to Computer Networks

  2. Application Layer

  3. Transport Layer

  4. Network Layer

  5. Link Layer

  6. Physical Layer


Organization


Grading (Tentative)

Both grading policy and scale are subject to change. Failure in either the assignments or the tests will result in failure in the course.

Grading Policy

Grading Scale (Tentative)

Important Note: You will have one week to appeal for your grades after the graded assignments/tests are returned. So, please keep this in mind if you think that there is a problem/issue with the grading of your work.



ABET Criteria

The course outcomes are skills and abilities students should have acquired by the end of the course. These outcomes are defined in terms of the ABET Accreditation Criterion 3 Program Outcomes which are relevant to this course.

Our graduates will have achieved:



Schedule (Tentative), Notes & Assignments

This is a tentative schedule including the exam dates. It is subject to readjustment depending on the time we actually spend in class covering the topics.

Permanent reading assignment: it is assumed that you are familiar with the contents of the slides of all past meetings.

Date Lectures Assignments & Notes
Mon, Aug 27 Lecture #1: Introduction (1) - Internet architecture Kurose&Ross ch. 1.1, 1.2  
Wed, Aug 29 Lecture #2: Introduction (2) - Networking Concepts Kurose&Ross ch. 1.3, 1.4  
Mon, Sep 3 Labor day (no class)  
Wed, Sep 5 Lecture #3: Introduction (3) - Protocols Kurose&Ross ch. 1.5  
Mon, Sep 10 Lecture #4: Introduction (4) - Network Security Kurose&Ross ch. 1.6, 1.7  
Wed, Sep 12 Lecture #5: Application Layer (1) - Web, HTTP Kurose&Ross 2.1, 2.2  
Lab 1: HTTP
Mon, Sep 17 Lecture #6: Application Layer (2) - FTP, e-mail Kurose&Ross ch. 2.3, 2.4  
Wed, Sep 19 Lecture #7: Application Layer (3) - DNS Kurose&Ross ch. 2.5  
Lab 2: DNS - Lab 1 due
Mon, Sep 24 Lecture #8: Application Layer (4) - Peer-to-Peer, Socket Programming Kurose&Ross ch. 2.6, 2.7, 2.8  
Progr.1: Mail client
Wed, Sep 26 Lecture #9: Transport Layer (1) - Multiplexing, UDP Kurose&Ross ch. 3.1, 3.2, 3.3  
Lab 3: UDP - Lab 2 due
Mon, Oct 1 Lecture #10: Transport Layer (2) - Reliable data transfer Kurose&Ross ch. 3.4  
Wed, Oct 3 Lecture #11: Transport Layer (3) - TCP Kurose&Ross ch. 3.5  
Lab 3 due
Mon, Oct 8 Lecture #12: Transport Layer (4) - Flow/Congestion Control Kurose&Ross ch. 3.6  
Wed, Oct 10 Lecture #13: Transport Layer (5) - TCP Congestion Control Kurose&Ross ch. 3.7, 3.8  
Lab 4: TCP
Mon, Oct 15 Lecture #14: Midterm review  
Progr.1 due
Wed, Oct 17 Midterm Exam  
Mon, Oct 22 Lecture #15: Network Layer (1) - Intro Kurose&Ross ch. 4.1, 4.2  
Lab 4 due
Wed, Oct 24 Lecture #16: Network Layer (2) - Routers Kurose&Ross ch. 4.3  
Mon, Oct 29 Lecture #17: Network Layer (3) - IP Kurose&Ross ch. 4.4  
Progr.2: Web Server
Wed, Oct 31 Lecture #18: Network Layer (4) - NAT and IPv6 Kurose&Ross ch. 4.4  
Lab 5: IP
Mon, Nov 5 Lecture #19: Network Layer (5) - Routing Algorithms Kurose&Ross ch. 4.5  
Wed, Nov 7 Lecture #20: Network Layer (6) - Routing Protocols Kurose&Ross ch. 4.6  
Lab 5 due at 11pm
Mon, Nov 12 Veterans day (no class)  
Wed, Nov 14 Lecture #21: Network Layer (7) - Broadcast and Multicast Kurose&Ross ch. 4.7  
Prog.2 due - Progr.3: Network Probing
Mon, Nov 19 Lecture #22: Link Layer (1) - Error Detection/Correction Kurose&Ross ch. 5.1, 5.2  
Lab 6: ICMP
Wed, Nov 21 Activity: Routing Algorithms/Protocols  
Mon, Nov 26 Lecture #23: Link Layer (2) - MAC, ARP Kurose&Ross ch. 5.3, 5.4  
Lab 6 due
Wed, Nov 28 Lecture #24: Link Layer (3) - Ethernet, Switches, VLANS Kurose&Ross ch. 5.5  
Lab 7: Ethernet
Mon, Dec 3 Lecture #25: Link Layer (4) - Virtualization, Data centers Kurose&Ross ch. 5.6, 5.7  
Wed, Dec 5 Lecture #26: Physical Layer (1) - Data and Signals Forouzan ch. 3  
Prog.3 due
Mon, Dec 10 Lecture #27: Physical Layer (2) - Data and Signals Forouzan ch. 3  
Lab 7 due
Wed, Dec 12 Prep day (no class)  
Wed, Dec 19 Final Exam @ 8:00am (Exam covers post-midterm material. However, you are expected to remember important pre-midterm concepts.)  

Acknowledgements: Slides are modified from the original slides of the textbook by Prof. Jim Kurose and Keith Ross.



Announcements

Announcements regarding the course will be posted on this web page and also sent by e-mail to your UNR e-mail account. Please daily check your UNR e-mail.



Course Information - Description - Objective - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus Organization - Grading - ABET Criteria - Schedule - Announcements


Last updated on Dec 4, 2012.