CS 446/646 Principles of Computer Operating Systems

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

UNR, spring 2009

Course Information - Description - Objective - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus
Organization - Grading - ABET Criteria - Schedule - Announcements

Course Information

Class hours Monday & Wednesday, 4:00 - 5:15pm, SEM 234 Operating System Concepts University of Nevada, Reno
Instructor Dr. Mehmet Gunes
E-mail mgunes (at) cse (dot) unr (dot) edu
Phone (775) 784 - 4313
Web page http://www.cse.unr.edu/~mgunes
Office SEM 230 (Scrugham Engineering-Mines)
Office hours Monday & Wednesday 2:30 - 4:00 pm or by appointment

Catalog Description

Concurrent processes, interprocess communication, processor management, virtual and real memory management, deadlock, file systems, disk management, performance issues, case studies. Practical experience with UNIX.

Objective

The principles, components, and design of modern operating systems, focusing on the UNIX platform.

Prerequisites


Textbooks

Required Recommended

Syllabus (Tentative)

This is a tentative list of topics, subject to modification and reorganization.
  1. Introduction to Operating Systems
  2. Operating-System Structures
  3. Processes
  4. Threads
  5. CPU Scheduling
  6. Process Synchronization
  7. Deadlocks
  8. Memory Management
  9. Storage Management
  10. Distributed Systems

Organization


Grading (Tentative)

Both grading policy and scale are subject to change. Failure in either the assignments or the tests will result in failure in the course.

Grading Policy

Grading Scale

Important Note: You will have one week to appeal for your grades after the graded assignments/tests are returned. So, please keep this in mind if you think that there is a problem/issue with the grading of your work.



ABET Criteria

ABET Accreditation Criterion 3 Program Outcomes that are relevant to this course are:



Schedule (Tentative), Notes & Assignments

This is a tentative schedule including the exam dates. It is subject to readjustment depending on the time we actually spend in class covering the topics.

Permanent reading assignment: it is assumed that you are familiar with the contents of the slides of all past meetings.

Date Lectures Assignments & Notes
Wed, Jan 21 Lecture #1: Introduction  
Mon, Jan 26 Lecture #2: Introduction (cont)  
Wed, Jan 28 Lecture #3: Operating-System Structures  
Mon, Feb 2 Lecture #4: Processes  
Wed, Feb 4 Lecture #5: Processes (cont) Homework 1
Mon, Feb 9 Activity 1: Multiprogramming Lab 1: Message passing
Wed, Feb 11 Lecture #6: Threads  
Mon, Feb 16 President's day (no class)  
Wed, Feb 18 Lecture #7: Threads (cont)  
Mon, Feb 23 Lecture #8: CPU Scheduling  
Wed, Feb 25 Lecture #9: CPU Scheduling (cont)  
Mon, Mar 2 Lecture #10: Process Synchronization Homework 2
Wed, Mar 4 Lecture #11: Process Synchronization (cont)  
Mon, Mar 9 Lecture #12: Process Synchronization (cont) Lab 2: Producer-Consumer problem
Wed, Mar 11 Midterm Exam  
Mon, Mar 16 Spring break (no class)  
Wed, Mar 18 Spring break (no class)  
Mon, Mar 23 Lecture #13: Deadlocks  
Wed, Mar 25 Lecture #14: Deadlocks (cont)  
Mon, Mar 30 Activity 2: Concurrency & Synchronization Homework 3
Wed, Apr 1 Activity 2: Concurrency & Synchronization (cont)  
Mon, Apr 6 Lecture #15: Memory Management Lab 3: Dispatcher simulation
Wed, Apr 8 Lecture #16: Memory Management (cont)  
Mon, Apr 13 Lecture #17: Memory Management (cont)  
Wed, Apr 15 Lecture #18: Storage Management  
Mon, Apr 20 Lecture #19: Storage Management (cont)  
Wed, Apr 22 Lecture #20: Storage Management (cont)  
Mon, Apr 27 Lecture #21: Protection Homework 4
Wed, Apr 29 Lecture #22: Security  
Mon, May 4 Lecture #23: Distributed Systems  
Mon, May 11
at 4:30 pm
Final Exam (Exam covers post-midterm material. However, students are expected to remember important pre-midterm concepts.)  

Acknowledgements: Slides are modified from the original slides of the textbook by Prof. Silberschatz, Galvin, and Gagne.



Announcements

Announcements regarding the course will be posted on this web page and WebCT. Please check your WebCT e-mail daily.



Course Information - Description - Objective - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus
Organization - Grading - ABET Criteria - Schedule - Announcements


Last updated on May 28, 2009