CS 450/650 Fundamentals of Integrated Computer Security

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

UNR, Spring 2012

Course Information - Description - Objective - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus
Organization - Grading - ABET Criteria - Schedule - Announcements

Course Information

Class hours Monday & Wednesday, 11:00 am - 12:15pm @ SEM 201 Security in Computing, 4th Edition University of Nevada, Reno
Instructor Dr. Mehmet H. Gunes
E-mail mgunes (at) cse (dot) unr (dot) edu
Web page http://www.cse.unr.edu/~mgunes
Office SEM 204 (Scrugham Engineering-Mines)
Office hours Monday & Wednesday, 2:30 - 4:00 pm or by appointment

Catalog Description

Network security, database and system security, access control, policy and ethics development, attacks, and counter attack measures, security tools and malicious code, current trends and research.

Objective

The objective of this course is to cover principles of computer and network security along with some relevant background in basic cryptography. We will discuss various attack techniques and how to defend against them. After completing this course, students will be able to analyze, design, and build secure systems of moderate complexity.

Prerequisites


Textbooks

Required Recommended

Syllabus (Tentative)

This is a tentative list of topics, subject to modification and reorganization.
  1. Introduction to computer security
  2. Computer Security Technology and Principles
  3. Software Security and Trusted Systems
  4. Management Issues
  5. Cryptographic Algorithms
  6. Network Security

Organization


Grading (Tentative)

Both grading policy and scale are subject to change. Failure in either the assignments or the tests will result in failure in the course.

Grading Policy

Grading Scale

Important Note: You will have one week to appeal for your grades after the graded assignments/tests are returned. So, please keep this in mind if you think that there is a problem/issue with the grading of your work.



ABET Criteria

ABET Accreditation Criterion 3 Program Outcomes that are relevant to this course are:



Schedule (Tentative), Notes & Assignments

This is a tentative schedule including the exam dates. It is subject to readjustment depending on the time we actually spend in class covering the topics.

Permanent reading assignment: it is assumed that you are familiar with the contents of the slides of all past meetings.

Date Lectures Assignments & Notes
Mon, Jan 23 Lecture #1: Introduction  
Wed, Jan 25 Lecture #2: Security Overview  
Mon, Jan 30 Lecture #3: Cryptographic Tools  
Wed, Feb 1 Lecture #4: Cryptographic Tools (cont)  
Mon, Feb 6 Lecture #5: User Authentication  
Wed, Feb 8 Lecture #6: User Authentication (cont)  
Mon, Feb 13 Lecture #7: Access Control Homework 1 due on Wednesday, Feb 22  
Wed, Feb 15 Lecture #8: Access Control (cont)  
Mon, Feb 20 President's day (no class)  
Wed, Feb 22 Lecture #9: Database Security  
Mon, Feb 27 Lecture #10: Intrusion Detection  
Wed, Feb 29 Lecture #11: Intrusion Detection (cont)  
Mon, Mar 5 Lecture #12: Firewalls and Intrusion Prevention Systems Lab 1 due Mar 12  
Wed, Mar 7 Lab 1: Intrusion detection and Firewalls  
Mon, Mar 12 Class canceled   
Wed, Mar 14 Midterm Exam  
Mon, Mar 19 Spring break (no class)  
Wed, Mar 21 Spring break (no class)  
Mon, Mar 26 Lecture #13: Malicious Software  
Wed, Mar 28 Lecture #14: Malicious Software (cont)  
Mon, Apr 2 Lecture #15: Denial of Service Attacks  
Wed, Apr 4 Lecture #16: Buffer Overflow  
Mon, Apr 9 Lecture #17: Software Security  Project due May 7 
Wed, Apr 11 Lecture #18: Operating System Security  
Mon, Apr 16 Lecture #19: Trusted Computing and Multilevel Security Lab 2 report due on Apr 25
Wed, Apr 18 Lab 2: Automated Attack and Penetration Tools  
Mon, Apr 23 Lecture #20: Legal and Ethical Aspects  
Wed, Apr 25 Lecture #21: Cryptographic Algorithms  
Mon, Apr 30 Lecture #22: Internet Security Protocols and Standards Lab 3 report due on May 14 
Wed, May 2 Lecture #23: Internet Authentication Applications  
Mon, May 7 Lecture #24: Wireless Network Security  
Tue, May 8 Review Session @ 1:00pm at FH 207  
Wed, May 16
at 8:00 am
Final Exam (Exam covers post-midterm material. However, students are expected to remember important pre-midterm concepts.)  


Announcements

Announcements regarding the course will be posted on this web page and WebCampus. Please check your WebCampus e-mail daily.



Course Information - Description - Objective - Prerequisites - Textbooks - Syllabus
Organization - Grading - ABET Criteria - Schedule - Announcements


Last updated on April 30, 2012