CS 491g/691g Special Topics on Network Measurements

Department of Computer Science & Engineering

UNR, Spring 2014

Course Information - Objective - Textbooks - Similar Courses - Relevant Conferences - Syllabus - Organization - Research Project - Grading - Schedule - Announcements

Course Information

Class hours Tuesday & Thursday, 11:00 - 12:15pm, SEM 201  Computer Networking: A Top-Down Approach University of Nevada, Reno
Instructor Dr. Mehmet H. Gunes
E-mail mgunes (at) unr (dot) edu
Phone (775) 784 - 4313
Web page http://www.cse.unr.edu/~mgunes
Office SEM 238 (Scrugham Engineering-Mines)
Office hours Tuesday & Thursday 12:30 - 2:30 pm or by appointment

Objective

Become familiar with the state-of-the-art in network measurements research from topological level to application domains

Study the use of measurements in modeling, understanding, and improving a network

Leverage and integrate various sources of information about the internal operations

Learn several statistical tools (both analytical and experimental) for the analysis of network measurements


Textbooks

Recommended:

Similar Courses

Relevant Conferences

Syllabus (Tentative)

This is a tentative list of topics, subject to modification and reorganization.
  1. Analytic Background
  2. Internet Architecture
  3. Network Tomography
  4. Network Dynamics
  5. Anomaly Detection
  6. Network Management
  7. Infrastructure Measurements
  8. Traffic Measurements
  9. Application Measurements
  10. Social Networks
  11. Mobile Networks and User Mobility
  12. Network Visualization

Organization


Research Project

The main component of your grade is a research project that may materialize as a publication. If your project has a significant coding or computational component (e.g., downloading and analyzing a network dataset), then you may work with a partner after consulting with the instructor. The paper will be judged on the following criteria:


Grading (Tentative)

Both grading policy and scale are subject to change.

Grading Policy

Grading Scale

Important Note: You will have one week to appeal for your grades after the graded assignments/tests are returned. So, please keep this in mind if you think that there is a problem/issue with the grading of your work.



Schedule (Tentative), Notes & Assignments

This is a tentative schedule including the exam dates. It is subject to readjustment depending on the time we actually spend in class covering the topics.

Date Lectures Assignments & Notes
Tue, Jan 21 Lecture #1: Introduction  
Thu, Jan 23 Lecture #2: Research ?  
Tue, Jan 28 Lecture #3: How to Read Research Papers How to Read a Paper  
How to read a research paper
Thu, Jan 30 Lecture #4: How to Write Research Papers  
Tue, Feb 4 Lecture #5: Internet Measurements Ch 2. Project Abstract  
Thu, Feb 6 Lecture #6: Internet Measurements Ch 2.  
Tue, Feb 11 Lecture #7: Practical Issues Ch 4. Project Abstract due  
Thu, Feb 13 Lecture #8: Infrastructure Measurement Ch 5.  
Tue, Feb 18 Lecture #9: Infrastructure Measurement Ch 5.  
Thu, Feb 20 Lecture #10: Infrastructure Measurement Ch 5.   
Tue, Feb 25 Lecture #11: Infrastructure Measurement Ch 5.  
Thu, Feb 27 Lecture #12: PlanetLab Design    
Tue, Mar 4 Lecture #13: PlanetLab Project Background due    
Thu, Mar 6 Lecture #14: Ahmet and Ibrahim   
Tue, Mar 11 Lecture #15: Esra and Douglas    
Thu, Mar 13 Lecture #16: Travis and Jay  
Tue, Mar 18 Spring break (no class)    
Thu, Mar 20 Spring break (no class)   
Tue, Mar 25 Lecture #17: Traffic Measurement    
Thu, Mar 27 Lecture #18: Traffic Measurement Lab 1 due  
Tue, Apr 1 Lecture #19: Traffic Measurement Project Methodology due  
Thu, Apr 3 Lecture #20: Applications: Web   
Tue, Apr 8 Lecture #21: Jay and Ahmet  
Thu, Apr 10 Lecture #22: Douglas and Ethem    
Tue, Apr 15 Lecture #23: Travis and Esra Lab 2 due  
Thu, Apr 17 Lecture #24: Wireless carrier claims vs. customer performance
Measuring Broadband America
 
Tue, Apr 22 Lecture #25: Where’s The Fault (BISmark video)
Pingin' in the Rain ( animation )
  
Thu, Apr 24 Lecture #26: Bartendr: A Practical Approach to Energy-aware Cellular Data Scheduling ( animation )
Portolan: Smartphone-based Crowdsourcing for Network Sensing (WiOpt)
MITATE: Mobile Internet Testbed for Application Traffic Experimentation
Measuring the Mobile Internet
Paper review due    
Tue, Apr 29 Lecture #27: Data storage at the RIPE NCC
Network Security Monitoring and Analysis based on Big Data Technologies
DNS Based Censorship
 
Thu, May 1 Lecture #28: Netalyzr for Android: challenges and opportunities
Hurricane Sandy, as seen by RIPE Atlas
Measuring the influence of ASes on Internet Routing
On multi-exit routings and AS relationships
Analyzing the spatial structure of the Internet topology
Lab 3 due
Tue, May 6 Lecture #29: Characterizing Global Web Censorship: Why is it so hard?
Internet Atlas: A Geographic Database of the Physical Internet
Exposing Inconsistent Web Search Results with Bobble
Network Measurement in a World of Software Defined Radios
OpenRadio: A Programmable Wireless Dataplane
PlanX: Enabling Innovative Measurements of Operational Wireless Networks
Project Report due    
Thu, May 8
at 10:15 am
Final Presentations      


Announcements

Announcements regarding the course will be posted on this web page and WebCampus. Please check your WebCampus e-mail daily.

Course Information - Objective - Textbooks - Similar Courses - Relevant Conferences - Syllabus - Organization - Research Project - Grading - Schedule - Announcements
Last updated on May 6, 2014