Monica Nicolescu - Research Lab

  • Tyler Becker (PhD)
  • Mayamin Hamid Raha (PhD)
  • Md. Abu Sayed (PhD)
  • Md. Azizul Hakim (PhD)
  • Andrew Palmer (PhD)
  • Shuvo Kumar Paul (PhD, co-advised with Mircea Nicolescu)
  • Parvaneh Aliniya (PhD, co-advised with Mircea Nicolescu)
  • Ayesh Meepaganithage (PhD, co-advised with Mircea Nicolescu)
  • Juliana Schneider (undergraduate intern, MIT).

PhD students

  • Seyed Pourya Hoseini Alinodehi, A Single-Shot Next Best View Approach Accompanied by a Dual-View Active Vision for Object Recognition Tasks, (co-advised with Mircea Nicolescu), defended 08/2020.
  • Banafsheh Rekabdar, Classification and Early Recognition of Spatio-Temporal Patterns using Spike-Timing Neural Networks, defended 05/03/2017.
  • Richard Kelley, Models of Intention for Human-Robot Interaction, defended 05/14/2013.
  • Bradford Towle, Using an Auction Behavior-Based Robotic Architecture in Order to Fulfill Necessary Functionality for Service Robotics, defended 05/09/2013.
  • Christopher King, Efficient Object Detection and Tracking Using a Novel MSER-Based Approach, defended 11/21/2013, co-advised with Mircea Nicolescu.

MS students

  • Song Jiang, Object Detection and Collaboration in Heterogeneous Multi-Robot Systems, defended April, 2022.
  • Andrew Palmer, Person Profiles and Sensor Calibration for Intent Recognition in Socially Aware Navigation, defended April 2020.
  • Tawfiq Chowdhury, Computation of Suitable Grasp Pose for Usage of Objects Based on Predefined Training and Real Time Pose Estimation, defended April 2020.
  • Timothy Sweet, Alignment of LiDAR and Long-Wave Infrared Sensors to a GPS/INS by Non-Experts, graduated December 2018.
  • Luke Fraser, A Hierarchical Control Architecture for Robust and Adaptive Robot Control, graduated May 2016.
  • Adeline Duong, A New Way to Interact with Robots, graduated May 2016.
  • Banafsheh Rekabdar, An Unsupervised Spike Timing Method for Learning Spatio-temporal Patterns, co-advised with Mircea Nicolescu, graduated May 2015.
  • Mohammad Taghi Saffar, Intent Recognition Using an Activation Spreading Architecture, advisor Mircea Nicolescu, graduated April 2015.
  • Liesl Wigand, Deep Convolutional Neural Networks for Multilabel Prediction Using RGBD Data, graduated 05/06/2014.
  • Katie Browne, Learning to Generalize from Demonstration, graduated 05/05/2013.
  • Daniel Bigelow, Intent Recognition in Multi-Agent Domains, graduated 05/04/2013.
  • Marek Hajek, System Architecture for Weather, Road Condition, and Vehicle Data Telemetry via Low Bandwidth Radio Network, graduated 4/24/2012.
  • Richard Kelley, Mind Reading for Social Robots: Stochastic Models of Intent Recognition, graduated 04/23/2009.
  • Jayashree Konda, Identification of Protein Coding Regions in Microbial Genomes Using Unsupervised Clustering, graduated 10/28/2009.
  • Austin Stanhope, A Control Architecture for Dynamic Execution of Robot Tasks Trained in Real-Time Using Particle Filters, graduated 11/30/2009.
  • Asya Nikitina, Design and Implementation of Pattern Recognition Algorithms for the Detection of Chemicals with a Microcantilever Sensor Array, graduated 11/07/2007.
  • Adam Olenderski, Aspects of Behavior Design for Learning by Demonstration, graduated 08/08/2007.
  • Xavier Palathingal, A Framework for Long-Term Human-Robot Interaction, graduated 04/18/2007.
  • Pablo Rivera, Development of an Autonomous Rover for the Nevada Student Satellite Program, graduated 08/08/2007.
  • Bradford Towle, Combining Role Playing Game Constructs Toward Real Time Strategy Games, graduated 11/28/2007.
  • Christopher King, Vision and Laser-Based Perception for Real-Time Autonomous Robotic Applications, graduated 12/03/2007 (co-chair with Mircea Nicolescu).
  • Christian Rayburn, Field Demonstrated Autonomous Robot Control for CanSat Rocket Payload Retrieval, graduated Fall 2005.

Undergraduate research students

  • Aaron Garza (Summer 2022)
  • Franco Azael Hernandez Quintero (Spring 2022)
  • Tyler Becker (2021-2022)
  • Dalton Navalta (2016 – 2018)
  • Logan Carlson (2017 – 2019)
  • Luke Fraser (Spring 2014)
  • Jared Rhizor (2012-2013)
  • Alexander McArther (2012-2013)
  • Cynthia Sherman (2009-2012)
  • Qandeel Sajid (2012-2103)
  • Liesl Wigand (Spring 2011)
  • Katie Browne (Fall 2010)
  • Sebastian Smith (2005-2006)

Intern students involved in research

  • Juliana Schneider (Davidson Academy, 2019-2022).
  • Yatin Chandar (Davidson Academy, 2014-2015)
  • Miranda Cross (Davidson Academy, Fall 2015)
  • Tristan Brodeur (2015)
  • Alexandre Trinidade (exchange student, Brasil, Summer 2015)
  • Henrique Azevedo (exchange student, Brasil, Summer 2015)
  • Connor Richard Novak (Davidson Academy, Summer 2015)






Sony Aibo